Deans & Department Heads


Headshot of John Walter Weidner

John Walter Weidner

Dean, CEAS - College of Eng & Appl Science

801A Engineering Research Cntr


Headshot of Amanda Jean Albrecht

Amanda Jean Albrecht

Assistant Dean of Academics, CEAS - Advising

Baldwin Hall


Headshot of Allen Arthur

Allen Arthur

Associate Dean, CEAS - Undergraduate Affairs

655A Baldwin Hall


Headshot of Whitney B. Gaskins

Whitney B. Gaskins

Assistant Dean and Assistant Professor- Office of Inclusive Excellence & Community Engagement , CEAS - Incl Excellence & Comm Engagmnt

665H Baldwin Hall


Headshot of Frank M Gerner

Frank M Gerner

Senior Associate Dean, CEAS - Administration

816 Engineering Research Cntr


Headshot of Paul D. Orkwis

Paul D. Orkwis

Special Assistant to the Dean for International Programs, CEAS - Aerospace Eng & Eng Mechanics

801A Engineering Research Cntr


Headshot of Teri Kristine Reed

Teri Kristine Reed

Executive Director, CEAS - College of Eng & Appl Science

862 Engineering Research Cntr


Dr. Teri Reed is assistant vice president of faculty research development for the Office of Research of the University of Cincinnati and professor in the Department of Chemical and Environmental Engi­neering. She received her BS in petroleum engineering from the University of Oklahoma and spent 7 years in the petroleum industry during which time she earned her MBA. She subsequently received her PhD in industrial engineering from Arizona State University. Dr. Reed’s teaching interests include engineering statistics, multidisciplinary and introductory engineering, quality engineering, diversity and leadership. Her research interests include statistics education, concept inventory development, assessment/evaluation of learning and programs, recruitment and retention, diversity, equity, and cultural humility. She has received funding from the National Science Foundation, Department of Education, various foundations, and industry.

Teri was the 2016 – 2017 President of the Women in Engineering ProActive Network (WEPAN) and currently continues as the Immediate Past President.  She is also a member, Board Member and Fellow of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), a Distinguished Member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) and a member of the Institute of Electronics and Electrical Engineers (IEEE). She was elected the Professional Interest Council (PIC) IV Chair in 2016 and is serving a 3 year term on the ASEE Board of Directors where she will be Vice President of PICs from 2018 - 2019.  She serves as an ABET Engineering Accreditation Council Commissioner for ASEE, is the past co-chair of ASEE’s Undergraduate Experience Council, and past chair of the Diversity Committee. She has served in multiple leadership roles in the Pre-College Engineering Education and Education Research and Methods Divisions, and with the Associate Deans group. She served as a reviewer of the US National Academy of Engineering’s 2008 report, Changing the Conversation: Messages for Improving Public Understanding of Engineering, and the 2010 report, Standards for K-12 Engineering Education? Reed has received a number of professional honors including the 2017 Distinguished Membership Award from SPE, the 2015 ASEE William Elgin Wickenden Award for research paper of the year, the 2013 ASEE Sharon Keillor Award for Women in Engineering Education, election as a 2010 Fellow Member of ASEE, the 2008 ASEE Outstanding Service Award from the ERM Division, 2007-2008 Committee on Institutional Cooperation Academic Leadership Program fellow, and, in fall 2012, Purdue University’s One Brick Higher Award, one of Purdue’s highest honors given by the university president.

Department Heads

Aerospace Engineering & Engineering Mechanics

Headshot of Kelly Cohen

Kelly Cohen

Professor, Interim Department Head, CEAS - Aerospace Eng & Eng Mechanics

745 E Baldwin Hall


Dr. Kelly Cohen, the Brian H. Rowe Endowed Chair in aerospace engineering, has been a faculty member at UC's College of Engineering and Applied Science, or CEAS, for more than 10 years and currently serves as interim head of the Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics. His career is marked by achievement in the field of aerospace engineering and education, including the UC Dolly Cohen Award for Excellence in Teaching, the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Outstanding Technical Contribution Application Award, the CEAS Distinguished Researcher Award and the Greater Cincinnati Consortium of Colleges and Universities Excellence in Teaching Award, among many others.

Biomedical Engineering

Headshot of Jason Shearn

Jason Shearn

Interim Department Chair, CEAS - Biomedical Eng

501L Engineering Research Cntr


Chemical & Environmental Engineering

Headshot of Anastasios Angelopoulos

Anastasios Angelopoulos

Professor, Department Head, CEAS - Chemical Eng

701L Engineering Research Cntr


Civil and Architectural Engineering and Construction Management

Headshot of Richard A Miller

Richard A Miller

Professor, Department Head, CEAS - Civil Eng

765A Baldwin Hall


Electrical Engineering & Computer Science

Headshot of Marc M Cahay

Marc M Cahay

Professor, Department Head, CEAS - Elec Eng & Computer Science

812J Rhodes Hall


M. Cahay has twenty five years experience in the field of nanoscience and nanotechnology and vacuum micro- and nano-electronics. He has published over 125 refereed journal papers and 55 refereed conference proceedings papers. He is an active member of the Electrochemical Society (ECS) for which he has co-edited of 11 proceedings volumes of symposia on quantum confinement and cold cathodes. He has been on the board of the IEEE Technical Committee on Spintronics and Nanomagnetism since 2002, has served on the program committees of 30 international conferences. He has written a book on an Introduction to Spintronics with Prof. Bandyopadhyay from Virginia Commonwealth University. His current area of research deals with generation of spin polarized currents by purely electrical means using asymmetrically bias quantum point contacts with in-plane side gates, experimental and theoretical investigations of field emission from carbon nanotube fibers and second electron emission from various anode materials.

Engineering Education

Headshot of P. K. Imbrie

P. K. Imbrie

Professor, Department Head, CEAS - Engineering Education

895A Rhodes Hall


Mechanical & Materials Engineering

Headshot of J. Kim

J. Kim

Professor, Department Head, CEAS - Mechanical Eng

598B Rhodes Hall


Dr. Jay Kim is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering in the Department of Mechanical and Materials Engineering.  His research and teaching interests are vibration of structures, rotordynamics, acoustics, noise and vibration controls, and engineerng education. He is currently serving as the Department Head, director of Occupational Safety and Health Engineering program and education director of Siemens Simulation Technology Center.