Gutmark Receives the Fulbright Specialist Award

By: Ashley Duvelius

Ephraim Gutmark receives the 2014 Fulbright Specialist Award for his continued research excellence and recognized professional standing.

Ephraim Gutmark, PhD and Professor of Aerospace Engineering and Otolaryngology

Ephraim Gutmark, PhD and Professor of Aerospace Engineering and Otolaryngology

Ephraim Gutmark, PhD and Distinguished Professor of Aerospace Engineering and Professor of Otolaryngology at the UC College of Engineering and Applied Science (CEAS), joins the 2014 Fulbright Specialist Program roster and will receive a grant to research abroad at the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kanpur in India.

Gutmark will be overseas for two weeks and in that time, he will visit their facilities, meet with faculty and students, and give a keynote lecture at the fifth International Conference on Fluid Mechanics and Fluid Power. He also plans to discuss opportunities for collaborative programs between IIT Kanpur and UC CEAS.

On his prestigious Fulbright Specialist Award, Gutmark says, “The IIT institutions are the premier technology universities in India.  Over the years, I’ve had the privilege of advising several excellent graduate students who came from these universities.  I’m honored to have this great opportunity to strengthen the relationship with this university, potentially establish a student exchange program with them, and develop novel collaborative research programs.”

The Fulbright Specialist Program (FSP) promotes linkages between US scholars and professionals and their counterparts at host institutions overseas. The program awards grants to US faculty and professionals to engage in short-term (two to six weeks) collaborative projects at eligible institutions in over 140 countries worldwide. Shorter grant lengths give Specialists greater flexibility to pursue projects that work best with their current academic or professional commitments. International travel costs and a per day grant payment are funded by the US Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.

For over 30 years, Gutmark has made outstanding contributions to his field. His novel research and development of innovative fluid engineering applications have impacted diverse technical areas including stable and clean combustion, quiet aircraft engines, improved missile propulsion systems, aerodynamic flight control, turbomachinery for power generation, automotive turbochargers and new actuators.

Gutmark joined UC in 2000 and has been instrumental in generating over 30 new research projects in a range of multidisciplinary topics with a budget of over $27 million. He’s garnered several awards for his various research efforts including: the 2014 Business Courier Lifetime Achievement Award for Innovation; the 2013 ASME Fluids Engineering Lifetime Achievement Award; the AIAA Aerospace Sciences Meeting Best Paper Award for his work, “Plasma Dynamics and Lasers”; and the American Physical Society (APS) Fellowship.

Gutmark received his bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees in Aerospace and Aeronautical Engineering from the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology in Haifa, Israel. He has experience working in industry, government and academe. Prior to joining UC, he was a chaired Professor of Mechanical Engineering and the Chairman of the Mechanical Engineering Department at Louisiana State University from 1995 to 2000. He joined the faculty at LSU after working as a Senior Research Scientist at the Naval Air Warfare Center in California where he developed a national program on flow and combustion control.

It’s distinguished faculty like Professor Gutmark that give testament to the high level of faculty excellence at UC CEAS.


About the United States-India Educational Foundation

The Indo-US agreement on educational exchange, signed by Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru and US Ambassador Loy Henderson on February 2, 1950 in New Delhi, established the United States Educational Foundation in India to administer the Fulbright Program in India. On July 4, 2008 the Government of India (GOI) and the US Government (USG) signed a new agreement to strengthen educational exchanges between the two countries. The Foundation was renamed as United States-India Educational Foundation (USIEF) awarding Fulbright-Nehru Scholarships and Grants. USG and GOI are now equal partners for implementing Fulbright Program in India. A 10-member Board of Directors, five Americans living in India nominated by the US Diplomatic Mission and five Indians nominated by the Government of India, governs USIEF.  For more details, please visit,

About the University of Cincinnati

The University of Cincinnati is a top 25 public research university with its highest enrollment in history – more than 42,500 students. U.S. News & World Report ranks 34 of UC’s programs in the top 50 in the nation. UC also is the founder of the world’s first cooperative education program.

For more information about the seven UC Recipients of the Presitigious 2014 Fulbright Awards, please visit:

For more information about Professor Gutmark and his novel work, please visit:

2014 Innovation Award Series—Gutmark Receives Lifetime Achievement Award for Innovation,

Professor Ephraim Gutmark to Be Named APS Fellow,

UC Research Finds Better Ways to Get Engines Revving,

Innovation 2012: CEAS Professor Develops “Ground-Breaking” Technology,