Engineering Professor Honored with ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award

Raj M. Manglik, PhD, recently received the prestigious ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award for his pioneering of and outstanding contributions to the field of heat transfer through teaching, research, practice and design.

By:      Ashley Duvelius
Date:  January 31, 2017

Dr. Raj M. Manglik with his ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award.

Dr. Raj M. Manglik with his ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award.

Raj M. Manglik, PhD, Professor of Mechanical Engineering in the University of Cincinnati (UC) College of Engineering and Applied Science (CEAS), recently received the prestigious American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Heat Transfer Memorial Award in the category of the art of heat transfer. Manglik has been honored “for pioneering and seminal advancement of the science and engineering of interfacial transport phenomena, boiling, thermal processing of non-Newtonian media, enhanced heat transfer, and micro-scale compact heat exchangers, leading to transformative contributions to the archival literature as well as engineering design practice.”

Manglik currently serves as Director of the UC Thermal-Fluids & Thermal Processing Laboratory. His research prowess spans a broad spectrum of thermal science and engineering, and he is a leading international expert on enhanced heat transfer, interfacial phenomena, molecular dynamics of surface-active self-assembled biomolecules and polymers, boiling heat transfer, bubble and droplet dynamics, thermal processing of polymeric materials and non-Newtonian fluids, energy and water conservation, and compact heat exchangers.

Manglik graduated with his B.Tech. in mechanical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology—Madras. In 1984, he arrived in the US to attend Iowa State University, where he obtained his MS in mechanical engineering. He later earned his PhD in mechanical engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Manglik's award

Manglik hails from a long academic line of heat transfer movers and innovators. Befittingly, Manglik’s mentor, Arthur E. Bergles, NAE, was also awarded the ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award in 1979. Bergles’ advisor, Warren M. Rohsenow, NAE, was one of the first to be honored with the award in 1967. Together, the two heat transfer pioneers created the Bergles-Rohsenow Young Investigator Award in Heat Transfer, which is given to a young engineer that is under 36 years of age and has received a PhD or equivalent degree in engineering. The individual must be committed to pursuing research in heat transfer, and must have demonstrated the potential to make significant contributions to the field of heat transfer.

Manglik recalls learning from the pages of the groundbreaking book Principles of Heat Transfer, by the renowned Frank Kreith, NAE, who is one of the 20th century fathers of heat transfer. Today, Manglik proudly co-authors the 7th and 8th editions of this classical textbook with Kreith (2011 7e, and 2016 8e, Cengage).

Dr. Manglik speaking at the awards ceremony.

Dr. Manglik speaking at the awards ceremony.

Additionally, Manglik is the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Enhanced Heat Transfer and has been its editor since the journal’s inception in 1993-94. He was a two-term Associate Editor of ASME Journal of Heat Transfer, editor of the International Journal of Heat Exchangers, and technical editor of Heat Transfer and Fluid Flow Data Books. He has more than 250 archival papers and technical reports, and has given numerous plenary talks, keynote presentations, and invited lectures at both national and international forums. He has published 12 highly acclaimed books, monographs, and book chapters, and the monograph: Plate Heat Exchangers: Design, Applications and Performance (2007, WIT Press, UK).

Manglik also has extensive industry experience as he, prior to his academic career in universities, garnered eight years of thermal-engineering expertise, in design of steam turbines, cogeneration power plants, heat exchangers, and hydraulic and pneumatic actuators.

Manglik was the recipient of the very first CAREER Award (1995) from the National Science Foundation and has also received the ASME Heat Transfer Division 75th Anniversary Medal (2013) and the ASME Melville Medal (2006) for the best original scientific contribution, among many other research and teaching awards. He has served as the Chair of the ASME HTD K-10 committee (2013-16), member of K-2 committee (2011-15), Chair of the first HTD-FED Summer Conference (2004), Chair of ISHMT-ASME Heat and Mass Transfer Conference (2011), and is a current member of the HTD Executive Committee (2014-18). He is a Fellow of ASME, a senior member of AIChE, and member of ASHRAE, Sigma Xi, and Tau Beta Pi.

He reflects, “It is quite an honor for me to now be featured among the likes of my distinguished mentor and professional grandfather.”